How To: Focusing

Yet another new series for my blog. This time it’s a ‘How to’/tips/hacks sort of thing! Expect tips related to writing, health, beauty, fitness… everything you can think of! If you want tips and/or hacks on a topic in particular, let me know in the comments below! Just a small disclaimer, these tips are based on both my research and personal experience. If you disagree with any of these, you can add and remove your own choices 🙂

So take out your notepads, put the kettle on and get writing!

95% of people say they struggle to focus on one specific thing.

I am one of those 95%… and you?

Keep food by your side.

Glucose helps with your brain to stay focused. Just make sure the food you have is healthy! No burgers and fries!

Turn off your phone.

Most phone calls aren’t so urgent anyways! If it’s so urgent, there is this thing called a ‘landline’ too?! Yeah, this landline has been around for decades, you know.

Get yourself a nice chair.

I only got my chair AFTER I dropped out of school. I used to study with a constant backache, thinking it was because of my forming hunchback and lifting heavy boxes at work. After I got my proper office chair – officially named ‘Captain America’ because why not? – that’s when my back became better and I studied for all my courses comfortably!

Second point: why do you think bosses don’t sit on cheap chairs?

Make a list.

Make it short and simple, but also make sure you include all of the important things.

Put on your head/earphones.

Classical and Indian music help me relax a lot. Even if I just put on my earphones and don’t put on music I am surprisingly more focused.

Declutter your desk.

COMPLETELY. Leave only the things you need. No phones, no laptops (if you’re studying on books and papers), nada.

Shut down everything.

If you don’t need your laptop, switch it off. Not put it on sleep, I mean actually switch it off. This goes with the previous point of your phone. Switch that off too. ONLY if you’re waiting for an urgent call put your phone as far away from your reach as possible.

Make sure you place it somewhere you can hear it.

Time yourself.

This really helps with seeing how much progress you make in a given time. It’s not about how much you have left, but how much you DID.

Reward yourself.

If you’re really working towards your goal, then reward yourself! Who not take an extra 15 on your break? Or watch a movie? Or maybe grab a naughty snack?

Frame your goal.

Look at it every morning or before you focus towards achieving it. Frame a big-ass letter A+ so you can work on getting A+’s. Or maybe you’re focusing on saving up more money? A picture of your dream destination would do! Goals don’t have to be academic you know!

Have some company.

Pets will for sure help you focus. Stroking their fur will soothe your mind off any thoughts to focus on.


How To: Writing Essays

How To: Taking Notes

Travel Series (1): Hacks

How To: Revision

How To: Fitness

How To: Creative Block

How To: Descriptions [Using Synonyms]

Leave a comment