Met Gala 2019

First Monday of May is always the most stellar night of the year in the fashion world. The Met Gala, otherwise known to us average Janes and Joes as the most fashionable night of the year, did not disappoint. The exhibition this year was called “Camp”.

Since I’m no expert, I will just gush and praise my favourite outfits from last night. And there were plenty of them, just so you know. The list below is just my personal opinion, remember we don’t all have to like all the same things so be nice! 🙂

Click here to read about last year’s looks!

Lady Gaga attends The 2019 Met Gala Celebrating Camp: Notes on Fashion at Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City on May 06, 2019.

Best believe Lady Gaga delivered this year (as always). She didn’t have just one outfit for the night, but four. FOUR! She’s the absolute QUEEN of the Met Galas! I cannot wait for next year already! No need to see anymore: she takes my best-dressed female of the MET Gala.

Billy Porter

After the outfit he wore for the Oscars, Billy Porter left me hanging to see what he’d have up his sleeve for the Met Gala. Bottom line: he also did not disappoint.

Katy Perry attends The Met gala celebrating the opening of the  Camp: Notes on Fashion  exhibition on Monday, May 6, 2019, in New York.

Katy, Katy Katy… WOW! I’m not sure where ‘camp’ is with this chandelier dress, but I love it nonetheless!

Joan Collins

Joan Collins’ crown is very well-deserved because she looks like royalty.

Kacey Musgraves

I’ve only recently heard of Kacey Musgraves, and after this look, I’ll be looking forward to hearing more of her.

jared leto met gala 2019

Men, take note! You don’t have to wear boring, standard tuxedos for events. Jared Leto is the epitome of being different yet elegant (and the head prop costs around $10K and it killed me a little!)

Tiffany Haddish

I’ll let Tiffany Haddish be my heart and soul anytime, love her!

Hamish Bowles

Hamish Bowles’ cape is the cape I thought I never needed in my life. Look at the colour and pattern!

Ryan Murphy

Ryan Murphy + gold x pearls = PERFECTION.

Florence Welch

Florence Welch delivered with this god-sent dress, as she always does with anything really.

Elegance, poise, beauty… just three of the many adjectives to describe Celine Dion.

Janelle Monae

I’ll try and find a clip of this if I can and insert it here, but the eye on her left breast winks. Janelle Monae is the new fashion icon the world needs to take note of!

Cardi B

I’m not sure how I should feel about the front of the dress, but that train though! She needed ten people to help her with the dress.

Michael Urie

Michael Urie: breaking gender norms since 1980.

Madelaine Petsch Met Gala 2019

Madeleine, Tinkerbell called and wants you to keep the dress because you slayed!

Saoirse Ronan Met Gala 2019

If you don’t know how to pronounce Saoirse’s name, just call her Mother of Dragons.

Anderson Paak Met Gala 2019

Thanks, Anderson Paak, for not wearing a black tux.

NEW YORK NEW YORK  MAY 06 Laverne Cox attends The 2019 Met Gala Celebrating Camp Notes on Fashion at Metropolitan Museum...

I love Laverne with all my heart, but I think I love her dress more (this time).

What Met Gala 2019 Outfit You Are According to Your Zodiac Sign

Yet another gender-norm-breaking outfit, this time from Zazie Beetz. Cannot choose whose is best though!

What Met Gala 2019 Outfit You Are According to Your Zodiac Sign

Let’s just change Zendaya’s name to Cinderella, because this dress is straight out of the fairy tale.

What Met Gala 2019 Outfit You Are According to Your Zodiac Sign

I cannot tell if Gigi’s outfit and shoes are all in one, but it works. She’s a supermodel so of course, it works!

What Met Gala 2019 Outfit You Are According to Your Zodiac Sign

Not completely camp in my opinion, but I’d wear Natasha Lyonne’s outfit for any event. It’s out of the box but at the same time very practical.

Slide 35

Work it, Ezra! Bye-bye gender norms, hello gender fluidity!

I missed Harry Styles and his stage presence. And this outfit made up for the absence because I love it! I know I’ve said that there are gender-norm-breaking numerous times in this post, but I am loving that. A lot.

I know I said black tuxedos are super boring, but this is Shawn Mendes we’re talking about, and he has gold streaks in his hair.

One word to describe Hailey’s dress: BREATHTAKING.

Lana Condor's 2019 Met Gala Dress Was So Big She Lost Her Phone In It

Fact: Lana Condor’s dress was so big she lost her phone in it!

Serena Williams

Love Serena’s dress, just don’t know how to feel about the sneakers.

Corey Gamble, Kris Jenner, Kanye West, Kim Kardashian West, Kendall Jenner, Kylie Jenner and Travis Scott arrives for the 2019 Met Gala

The Kardashian clan did not disappoint this year! (Side note: can anybody say whether Kim removed her ribs or not? She looks weird round that area).

Priyanka Chopra and Nick Jonas

Priyanka’s dress gives me major royalty vibes. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

Slide 34

S-l-a-y, Ciara!

Slide 28

Clear proof Miley’s tongue-out, twerking days are way behind her.

Slide 30

Liza Koshy thought ahead in case she decided to take a nap. Chuck the furry pillow and it’d have been a very nice and elegant dress.

Slide 25

Very few can nail the yellow look. Charli XCX is definitely one of them.

The 2019 Met Gala Celebrating Camp: Notes On Fashion - Arrivals

Cara ‘Candy Queen’ Delevigne delivered in technicolour.

The 2019 Met Gala Celebrating Camp: Notes on Fashion - Arrivals

Ladies and gentlemen, Lizzo!

The 2019 Met Gala Celebrating Camp: Notes on Fashion - Arrivals

This is the kind of outfit I would wear for my ex’s wedding. Halsey knows what’s up!

The 2019 Met Gala Celebrating Camp: Notes On Fashion

Bow down to Queen Lupita!

The 2019 Met Gala Celebrating Camp: Notes on Fashion - Arrivals

Gemma Chan has only recently caught my eye since entering the MCU and the Harry Potter Universe, and I hope I see more of her at the MET Galas of the future because she flawlessly slayed this year.

image

Bella Hadid looks… molto bella. (This is not as far as my Italian can go, but I had to slip in a pun somewhere in the post).

image

Constance Wu is the flapper dancer queen we needed all our lives everybody. Look at the poise! WOW!

image

I know this won’t make you feel any better, but Gwen Stefani is 50. FIFTY. And she doesn’t look a day over 30 in this outfit.

image

I love this outfit. Elegant, simple and with a slight touch of gold, But Lily-Rose, this is more Oscars than MET Gala. But kudos for the effort.

image

The colours, the patterns, the hair… Dual Lipa did well with this look!

The 2019 Met Gala Celebrating Camp: Notes on Fashion - Arrivals

Lily Collins is giving me major Priscilla Prestley vibes with this look. And the dress?! Yes, Collins, YAS.

image

The only two people I look forward to at the MET Gala… and yet they’re the two that disappointed me the most this year. The Olsen twins are usually on point with their dresses, make-up and accessories, and this is just… meh.

image

The irony of Hailee Steinfeld having her photo taken when her dress says No photos please. (Love the hair and make-up though!)

image

Divine is perfect to describe Donatella Versace’s dress.

image

A bedazzled Michael B Jordan is better than no Michael B Jordan (swoooon!)

image

Oh, Benedict Cumberbatch. My darling pimp-looking Benedict.

image

I’m so used to Lily Singh (iiSuperwomanii on Youtube) that I didn’t even realise at first glance that this was her. She looks so stunning and elegant! You should wear more gowns, Lily!!

Diane von Furstenberg being her royal, slaying self.

Image result for kate moss met gala 2019

Kate Moss is back and snatching crowns!

Image result for taylor hill met gala 2019

Taylor Hill is oozing elegance and poise in this blush pink dress. Not camp, but still beautiful.

Image result for maluma met gala 2019

Again with the anti-black tuxedo. Maluma definitely takes my best-dressed man of the MET Gala.


latahapparel codemantramalta-promo-1

3 thoughts on “Met Gala 2019”

  1. B y now you’ve pored over all of the pink carpet pap shots from the 2019 Met Gala, soaking up every last feather, frill and filament bulb (in the case of Katy Perry ). But fortunately for those who aren’t ready to let go of one of fashion’s most fabulous nights for another year, the #latergrams are flooding in.

    Like

Leave a comment